2023 IBMA Momentum Award Recipients

IBMA Mentor of the Year – Dan Boner

Industry Involvement – Matt Hutchinson

Vocalist of the Year – Carley Arrowood-Thrailkill

Instrumentalists of the Year (2 selected) – Gaven Largent, Maddie Dalton

Band of the Year – Crying Uncle Bluegrass Band


Categories, Eligibility, and Selection Process

IBMA Momentum Awards are given annually by the International Bluegrass Music Association to artists and industry professionals who are in the early years of their careers in bluegrass music. Bands, instrumentalists, vocalists, and industry professionals who are new to bluegrass and have been active during the eligibility period are invited to apply. An award is also presented to a mentor for his/her/their positive influence on new artists and industry professionals.

  • Mentor of the Year
  • Industry Involvement
  • Vocalist of the Year
  • Instrumentalist of the Year
  • Band of the Year


Any person may suggest a candidate for consideration by completing the online Momentum Awards nomination form. Self-nominations are encouraged.

All submissions are reviewed by IBMA Executive-appointed Momentum Awards Nominating Committees for each category. The leading candidates in each category are recommended to the IBMA Momentum Awards Selection Committee for decision by majority vote. Category descriptions and awards eligibility and criteria can be found in the IBMA Awards Handbook.

back to top