Any IBMA member may suggest an artist or industry leader for consideration for this award. The submission process consists of submitting a letter of recommendation for a nominee using the IBMA’s online Distinguished Achievement Awards submission form.

These awards are especially appropriate when they honor those not recognized by other IBMA Bluegrass Music Awards categories.


Award Criteria, Eligibility and Selection Process




Learn More

Selection Process

The Distinguished Achievement Awards Committee selects one individual from each of the four categories for recognition. They may choose to select an additional individual each year in the General category.

Candidates for the Distinguished Achievement are judged on their contributions to or influence upon bluegrass music, whether in general or in a specific branch of the industry. Their contributions should be unique, given the relative period of time in which they were made. They should embody the spirit of one who “pioneers” or opens new possibilities for the music.

back to top