2023 IBMA Industry Award Recipients

Broadcaster of the Year – Ned Luberecki

Event of the Year – Blue Highway Fest (Big Stone Gap, Virginia)

Graphic Designer of the Year – Grace van’t Hof

Liner Notes of the Year – Sam Bush – Radio John: The Songs of John Hartford (Written by Sam Bush and Jon Weisberger)

Writer of the Year – Chris Jones

Sound Engineer of the Year – Steve Chandler

Songwriter of the Year – Tim Stafford


Categories, Eligibility, and Selection Process

IBMA Industry Awards are given annually to industry professionals who are dedicated to furthering bluegrass music and its artists. Songwriters, broadcasters, writers, graphic designers, event promoters, and sound engineers who have been active during the eligibility period are invited to apply. It is not required for nominees to be IBMA members.

  • Broadcaster of the Year
  • Event/Venue of the Year
  • Graphic Designer of the Year
  • Liner Notes of the Year
  • Writer of the Year
  • Sound Engineer of the Year
  • Songwriter of the Year
  • Photographer of the Year

Nominations open May 1-31!

Any person may suggest a candidate for consideration by completing the online Industry Awards nomination form. Self-nominations are encouraged.

All submissions are reviewed by IBMA Executive-appointed Industry Awards Nominating Committees for each category. The leading candidates are recommended to the IBMA Panel of Electors, whose vote determines the award recipients. Category descriptions and awards eligibility and criteria can be found in the IBMA Awards Handbook.

back to top