2023 Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame Inductees

Sam Bush

Wilma Lee Cooper

David Grisman

Founded by the IBMA in 1991, the Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame (initially named of “Hall of Honor”) is the bluegrass music industry’s tribute to the pioneers of the music and the people who have made it great.


Award Criteria, Eligibility and Selection Process

Induction into the Hall of Fame is determined by a committee appointed by the International Bluegrass Music Association. A nominating committee consisting of music industry leaders creates a slate of 10-15 candidates. From these names, a panel of the candidates’ peers in the music industry cast ballots to narrow the nominees to five finalists.

After the five finalists have been selected, the panel again votes to select the inductee(s) for that year. Formal induction takes place each year during the IBMA Bluegrass Music Awards.



Visit the Hall of Fame

The Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame & Museum — formerly the “International Bluegrass Music Museum” — is located in Owensboro, Kentucky. Within the state-of-the-art building, visitors will discover the history of bluegrass music via special exhibits, concerts, and more. The centerpiece of the museum is the IBMA Hall of Fame inductee room where you can learn more about each pioneer and innovator who has been awarded bluegrass music’s highest honor.

back to top