NASHVILLE, TENN. (March 8, 2024) – The International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) is proud to announce the graduating class of Leadership Bluegrass 2024, an intensive three-day program of advanced-level interactive learning experiences designed to build commitment, motivate talents, and instill enthusiasm for addressing the future of the bluegrass music industry. This was the 23rd year of Leadership Bluegrass, which now boasts 560 alumni. Leadership Bluegrass 2024 was hosted on the campus of Belmont University in Nashville, Tennessee March 4-6. Jeff Westerinen served as the course facilitator and Maria Nadauld served as the assistant facilitator.

The IBMA also recognizes our Leadership Bluegrass 2024 Planning Committee: Stacy Chandler (Co-Chair), Casey Campbell (Co-Chair), Dustin Boyd, Jordan Laney, Greg Blake, Phil Chorney, Kris Trueslen, and Ethan Charles (IBMA Staff Liaison).

This year, Leadership Bluegrass was fortunate to have an illustrious list of top-tier industry speakers and presenters: among which were Alison Brown, John McEuen, Béla Fleck, and Jerry Salley.

Each year, participants are selected through a highly competitive application process and are a cross-section of current and future leaders from all areas of the industry.

Leadership Bluegrass 2024 graduates:

Chelsea Burns
Central Texas Bluegrass Association
Austin, TX

Amanda Cook
Mountain Fever Records
Fancy Gap, VA

Carolyn Eyerly
DC Bluegrass Union
Vienna, VA

Sara Gougeon
Pineworks Creative / Queerfest
Nashville, TN

Karen Celia Heil
California Bluegrass Association / Berkeley Old Time Music Convention
San Francisco, CA

Mike Kaiz
Madison House
Chicago, IL

Kevin Keating
Wind Gap Bluegrass Festival
Nazareth, PA

Anna Kline
International Bluegrass Music Association
Mount Sterling, KY

Jeff Koontz
Planning Stages, Inc.
Brevard, NC

Linda Leavitt
Oregon Bluegrass Association
Sisters, OR

Tashi Litch
Eastsound, WA

Helen Lude
California Bluegrass Association
San Francisco, CA

Rob McCormac
Indiana University / Liam Purcel & Cane Mill Road / Trailhead Touring & Production
Bloomington, IN

Amanda McDowell
Quarryville, PA

Mike Mitchell
Floyd Music School / The Mike Mitchell Band
Floyd, VA

Seth Mulder
Seth Mulder & Midnight Run
Sevierville, TN

Kody Norris
The Kody Norris Show / Mountain City Fiddlers’ Convention
Mountain City, TN

Liam Purcell
Trailhead Records
Deep Gap, NC

Ariel Rosemberg
Littleton, CO

Timothy Trudeau
Syntax Creative
Franklin, TN

Amanda Webb
NoraBelle Studio
Sevierville, TN

Lillian Werbin
Elderly Instruments
Lansing, MI

Dan Whitener
Gangstagrass / Man About a Horse
Matawan, NJ

Alissa Wolf
Stillhouse Junkies
Durango, CO

Cassie Wright
Fox Crossing Stringband
Chicago, IL

The IBMA is the non-profit music association that connects, educates, and empowers bluegrass professionals and enthusiasts, honoring tradition and encouraging innovation in the bluegrass community worldwide.

back to top