The International Bluegrass Music Association is pleased to announce the election of new members to its Board of Directors and the election of its officers for the next twelve months. The following members were elected or re-elected to serve a three-year term commencing June 7, 2022:

Michael Kaiz – Agents, Managers & Publicists (member elected)
Jerry Salley – Recording, Distribution & Marketing (member elected)
Joe Newberry – Artists, Composers, and Music Publishers (member elected; re-elected to second term)
Ariel Rosemberg – Event Production (member elected)
Ben Wright – At Large (member elected)
Ashley Moyer – At Large (board appointed; re-elected to second term)
Adam Engelhardt – At Large (board appointed; elected to second term)
Anna Frick – At Large (board appointed)

The Board of Directors elected the following as officers on its Executive Committee:

Board Chair – Mike Simpson
Board Vice-Chair – Ashley Moyer
Treasurer – Adam Engelhardt
Secretary – Michael Kaiz
Executive Committee Member – Daniel Boner

Simpson, who was serving as Chair of the IBMA Board in 2021, is a lifelong fan and supporter of Bluegrass whose mother’s family is from Rosine, Kentucky – the home of the father of Bluegrass, Bill Monroe. He also is the past-Chairman of the Board of the Bluegrass Hall of Fame and Museum where he helped co-produce the ROMP music festival.

“I am humbled and honored to be asked by my fellow board members to serve a second term as Chair,” says Simpson. “Last year was full of challenges and unexpected obstacles, which we overcame as a team; and I look forward to another year of innovative programs for our members, getting back to normal, and keeping our focus on creating and sustaining bluegrass music, which inseparably binds us all together.  I believe that Bill Monroe got it right  – Bluegrass has brought more people together and made more friends than any music in the world – and together we can look forward to another fantastic year for growing the love of bluegrass and the IBMA.”

The board and team at IBMA, along with all of its members, thank outgoing board members Marian Leighton Levy, Kyle Cantrell, Chris Pandolfi, Michelle Conceison, and Claire Armbruster for their outstanding service and contributions to the association and the entire bluegrass music community. As volunteers, they gave considerable time and effort in their service to the IBMA membership.

back to top