2020 IBMA Bluegrass Music Award Recipients

Entertainer of the Year: Sister Sadie

Album of the Year: Live in Prague, Czech Republic – Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver

Song of the Year: “Chicago Barn Dance” – Special Consensus w/ Michael Cleveland & Becky Buller

Vocal Group of the Year: Sister Sadie 

Instrumental Group of the Year: Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper 

New Artist of the Year: Mile Twelve


Awards Process

The IBMA Bluegrass Music Awards are determined by three rounds of voting by current IBMA professional members. Each awards category has its own criteria and guidelines clarifying who the recipients are. Understanding the eligibility, criteria, and selection process of our awards helps our voting members throughout the balloting process.

Nomination Process

Awards Categories

Selection Process


2021 Ballot Schedule Coming Soon

Note: The IBMA uses a third party for the balloting process to ensure fairness in awards voting. This balloting firm has to have membership information well in advance of each ballot. Therefore, we have set cut-off dates for memberships prior to ballots going out. 2021 cut-off dates will be announced soon.

Reminder: The IBMA Bluegrass Music Awards are voted upon by current IBMA professional members.


For Your Consideration List

This list of artists, albums, and singles is offered as a courtesy to our voting members as they fill out the first round ballot of the IBMA Bluegrass Music Awards. This list consists solely of submissions by Artists, Artist Teams, & Record Labels and is not contributed to or edited by the IBMA staff.

Submission Deadline – April 5.

back to top