Leadership Bluegrass 2023

NASHVILLE, TN. (March 17th, 2023) 

The International Bluegrass Music Association is proud to announce the graduating class of Leadership Bluegrass 2023. Leadership Bluegrass is an intensive, three-day program focused on interactive learning and networking experiences which invite participants to examine the challenges and opportunities facing the bluegrass music industry and pursue leadership development. This was the 22nd year of Leadership Bluegrass, which now boasts 535 alumni. Leadership Bluegrass 2023 was hosted at The Country Music Hall of Fame & Museum in Nashville, Tennessee March 6-8. Jeff Westerinen served as the course facilitator and Maria Nadauld served as the assistant facilitator.

The IBMA also recognizes our Leadership Bluegrass 2023 Planning Committee: Jordan Laney, Kris Truelsen, Casey Campbell, Annie Savage, Jeff Westerinen, Ron Raxter, Stacy Chandler and Dustin Boyd.

This year, Leadership Bluegrass was fortunate to have an illustrious list of top-tier industry speakers and presenters: among which were Sam Bush, Alison Brown, Becky Buller, Sherrill Blackman, Tristan Scroggins and Mike Kaiz.

Each year, participants are selected through a highly competitive application process and are a cross-section of current and future leaders from all areas of the industry, coming from various regions of the U.S. and the world. Sponsors for Leadership Bluegrass include BMI, Williams Mullin, and Leadership Bluegrass Alumni.

Leadership Bluegrass 2023 graduates:

Amy Alvey

Golden Shoals/ Radio Host WMOT

Madison, TN


Marcia Campbell

Grand Ole Opry

Nashville, TN


Hasee Ciaccio

Sister Sadie/ Laurie Lewis & The Right Hands

Cove Creek, NC


Kristy Cox

Kristy Cox Band

Hendersonville, TN


Laura Crawford

Recording Academy

Nashville, TN


Guido de Groot

Rotterdam Bluegrass Festival

Rotterdam, Netherlands


Frank Evans

The Slocan Ramblers

Madison, TN


Dave Gooding

California Bluegrass Association Board Member

Vacaville, CA


Christopher Howard-Williams

Bluegrass in La Roche

La Roche, France


Alex Lacquement

Charm City Junction

Baltimore, MD


Dylan Locke

Floyd Country Store/ Handmade Music School/ County Sales

Floyd, VA


Sarah McCombie

Chatham Rabbits

Greensboro, NC


Austin Scelzo

Rock Hearts/ CT Bluegrass Association

Danbury, CT


Marianne See

Anchorage Folk Festival

Anchorage, AK


Mike Simpson

International Bluegrass Music Association

Bowling Green, KY


Kevin Slick

Colorado Bluegrass Music Society

Louisville, CO


Gieselle Tambe-Ebot

Jam Pack Band

Chandler, AZ


Cody Tinnen

Stillhouse Junkies

Durango, CO


Brandi Waller-Pace

Decolonizing the Music Room

Fort Worth, TX


Tray Wellington

Tray Wellington Band

Raleigh, NC


Kalia Yeagle

ETSU/ Bill and the Belles

Johnson City, TN


Sami Braman

The Onlies

Nashville, TN


Bevin Foley

Trout Steak Revival

Denver, CO


Ellie Hakanson

Missy Raines and Allegheny / Kristy Cox and Grasstime

Nashville, TN

back to top