Nashville, TN, September 29, 2022 – The International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) has announced the recipients of the 2022 Industry Awards, awarded today as part of this week’s IBMA World of Bluegrass.

The 2022 IBMA Industry Awards, sponsored by the California Bluegrass Association, recognize outstanding work in categories including Broadcaster of the Year, Event of the Year, Graphic Designer of the Year, Liner Notes of the Year, Writer of the Year, Sound Engineer of the Year, and Songwriter of the Year.

The 2022 Industry Awards recipients:

Broadcaster of the Year

Chris Jones


Event of the Year

Industrial Strength Bluegrass Festival

Wilmington, Ohio

Graphic Designer of the Year

Grace van’t Hof

Liner Notes of the Year

Ted Olson

Doc Watson

Life’s Work: A Retrospective

Writer of the Year

Akira Otsuka

Sound Engineer of the Year

Steve Chandler

Songwriter of the Year

Ronnie Bowman

During the Awards show, several organizations and individuals who have made significant contributions to bluegrass music received the IBMA Distinguished Achievement Award: flatpicking innovator Dan Crary, cutting-edge roots music organization FreshGrass Foundation, revered banjo creator and musician Steve Huber, the legendary Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, in celebration of the 50th Anniversary of the landmark, Will the Circle Be Unbroken album, and online education leaders Peghead Nation.

IBMA – the International Bluegrass Music Association – is the non-profit music association that connects, educates, and empowers bluegrass professionals and enthusiasts, honoring tradition and encouraging innovation in the bluegrass community worldwide.

Press Info:            Judy McDonough, KCM

[email protected], 615-243-5994

General Info:        Kristen Bearfield, IBMA

[email protected], 615-256-3222




back to top