University Bluegrass & Music Business Programs

Appalachian State University

Center for Appalachian Studies
Boone, NC
Dr. Katherine Ledford
(828) 262-2000
(828) 262-4089
ledfordke@appstate.edu
*four-year degree (major & minor), Masters in Appalachian Music: Roots & Influences

Belmont University

Mike Curb College of Entertainment & Music Business
Nashville, TN
Tammy Rogers King, Bluegrass Ensemble Director
(615) 460-6785
tammy.rogersking@belmont.edu
*degrees in audio engineering tech, entertainment industry studies, music business, songwriting

Berea College

Music Program
Berea, KY
Al White, Director of Bluegrass Music
1-859-985-3694
al_white@berea.edu

Berklee College of Music

American Roots Music Program
Boston, MA
Matt Glaser
(617) 747-2507
mglaser@berklee.edu
*performance degrees with focus on bluegrass instruments; songwriting; production & engineering

Bethel University

Renaissance Bluegrass Band
McKenzie, TN
Stephen Mougin
mougins@bethelu.edu
731-352-6981
*Ensemble scholarships, degree programs ranging from Music Business to Medicine.

Denison University

Music
Granville, OH
Andy Carlson
740-587-5767
Carlson@denison.edu

East Tennessee State University

Bluegrass, Old-Time and Country Music Studies
Johnson City, TN
Daniel Boner
(423) 439-5348
(423) 439-7072
*four-year degree in Bluegrass Music, Old-Time and Country Music Studies

Glenville State College

Bluegrass, Department of Fine Arts
Glenville, WV
Buddy Griffin, Bluegrass Director
(304) 462-7361, ext. 7342
buddy.griffin@glenville.edu
*four-year B.A. in Music with Bluegrass Concentration and a Certification Program

Hazard Community Technical College

Kentucky School of Bluegrass & Traditional Music
Hyden, KY
Dean Osborne,
(606) 487-3630,
dean.osborne@kctcs.edu
*two-year associate degree in Bluegrass & Traditional Music

Middle Tennessee State University

Department of Recording Industry
Murfreesboro, TN
Beverly Keel
(615).898.5150
(615) 898-2578
dana.potter@mtsu.edu
*degrees in recording and music business

Morehead State University

Kentucky Center for Traditional Music
Morehead, KY
Raymond McLain
(606) 783-9001
kctm@moreheadstate.edu
*minor in Traditional Music Studies

Shoreline Community College

https://www.shoreline.edu/music/instrumental.aspx
Shoreline, WA
Doug Reid
(206) 546-4759
dreid@shoreline.edu
*"History of Bluegrass" and "Bluegrass Band" ensembles offered

South Plains College

Commercial Music
Levelland, TX
Joe Carr
(806) 716-2493
(806) 544-9703
jcarr@southplainscollege.edu
*two-year associate degree in Commercial Music

University of L​ouisiana at Lafayette

Traditional Music
Lafayette, Louisiana
Mark DeWitt
(337) 482-6016
MFD3749@louisiana.edu
Len Springer, Bluegrass ensemble director
(337) 280-9763
LXS4759@louisiana.edu
*BA degrees in Traditional Music or Music Business

Volunteer State Community College

Bluegrass Music Program
Gallatin, TN
Lynn Peterson
615-230-3221
Lynn.Peterson@volstate.edu
Ben Graves
615-452-8600 ext. 2936
benjamin.graves@volstate.edu
*new jam sessions and classes are being organized through the Continuing Education program, with the goal of offering a two-year degree that can be transferred to ETSU for a four-year degree in bluegrass music

Walters State Community College

Morristown, TN
Laura Ritter
(423) 585-6969
laura.ritter@ws.edu
*associate degree in Professional Entertainment: Entertainment Industry or Performance

Warren Wilson College

Appalachian Music Program
Asheville, NC
Kevin D. Kehrberg
828-771-3765
kkehrberg@warren-wilson.edu