Songwriter Switchboard

Welcome!  Songwriter Switchboard provides you with timely and relevant information pertaining to your craft and community.  It is your hub for virtually everything pertaining to the IBMA songwriting community!  We’ll be posting about upcoming events, articles about our songwriting members, and more.  Thanks for stopping by.  Stay tuned!  - Becky Buller, IBMA Songwriting Committee Chair

IBMA Songwriter Mentoring Program

Back in January of 2015 and better than ever…it’s the IBMA Songwriter Mentoring Program!  Get constructive criticism on cultivating your craft from some of the best in the business.  Interested in being mentored or mentoring?  Contact Tony Rackley.  Must be a member to participate.

World of Bluegrass Songwriter Showcase

The IBMA Songwriter Showcase is a coveted opportunity during the IBMA's World of Bluegrass.  The showcase focuses attention on ten selected songwriters, allowing each writer perform one original bluegrass song to the best bluegrass artists and producers in the industry. While the standards will always remain central to the genre, its growth and development is ensured by the creative output of great songwriters!

2014 Participants

Claire Lynch (Moderator)
Buller (Moderator)

Brandi Belle Clarke, Kristina Kidd, Lexi Adams: “Mockingbird”
Aaron Biebelhauser and Michael Cleveland: “I’ll Be On My Way”
Louisa Branscomb: “Riding Double on My Old John Deere”
Dawn Kenney, Mitch Matthews, David Morris: “Somethin’ ‘Bout a Train”
David Morris, Chris Dockins: “Weeds Where the Flowers of Love Once Grew”
Emma McDowell Best: “Round and Round”
John C. Miller: “Cloud of Dust”
Teresa Neal, Louisa Branscomb, CC Crouch: “Money Can’t Buy Grace”
Savannah Strong-Finch, Tim Finch: “Your Love is Like Moonshine”
Eric Marshall: “A Soldier’s Return”

2015 application will be online.  More information coming soon.

Songwriter of the Year Award

The Songwriter of the Year award, established in 2012 as part of the IBMA's Special Awards, is presented annually during World of Bluegrass week.  The award recognizes the recipient(s) for outstanding contributions to the profession, art, and craft of songwriting during the period of eligibility for IBMA Awards (April 1-March 31 each year).   This award also recognizes the recipients' impact and influence on other bluegrass songwriters, musicians and audiences, as well as an ability to advance bluegrass music.

IBMA Songwriting Committee

We help facilitate events for our fellow songwriters both during the World of Bluegrass week and throughout the year.  Our goal is to enhance and grow our creative community, adding value to your IBMA membership.  Please contact us with your ideas for this webpage as well as future programs, etc.

Becky Buller (chair) 
Taylor Coughlin (staff liaison) 
Rick Lang 
Milan Miller 
Shannon Slaughter 
Tony Watt