Recognizing artists and business professionals in the early years 

Of their bluegrass music careers


NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE (September 25, 2019) – The International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) has announced the recipients of the 2019 Momentum Awards, awarded at a luncheon today at the World of Bluegrass Business Conference at the Raleigh Convention Center in downtown Raleigh, North Carolina.

The Momentum Awards focus on artists and industry professionals who are in the early stages of their bluegrass music careers. There are four performance awards: one each for Band and Vocalist, and two for Instrumentalist. Two more awards recognize industry achievement: Industry Involvement, and Mentor.

The Mentor Award is the one Momentum Award that recognizes veteran bluegrass professionals, where they have made significant contributions fostering excellence in young bluegrass performers and members of the industry.

Nominees and recipients are selected by a multiple, committee-driven process. Regional and local associations — as well as all IBMA members — are encouraged to identify serious emerging artists and leaders for consideration. With the exception of the Mentor category, anyone previously nominated for an IBMA Music or Industry Award may not be considered for a Momentum Award.


The 2019 Momentum Awards recipients:


Industry Involvement

Bennett Sullivan



Anni Beach


Instrumentalist (2 recipients in this category)

Daniel Amick (mandolin)

Tray Wellington (banjo)



AJ Lee



Cane Mill Road



Press Info:  Judy McDonough, JEMMedia
[email protected], (615) 243-5994

General Info:   Abby Lee Hood, IBMA

[email protected] (615) 256-3222

back to top