The Gibson Brothers - for the Second Year in a Row - Named Entertainer of the Year at 2013 IBMA Music Awards




The Gibson Brothers took home the Entertainer of the Year award at the sold-out 24th annual International Bluegrass Music Awards Thursday night, September 26 at Raleigh, North Carolina’s Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts.

It was an exciting night for New York State-based band The Gibson Brothers, who also took home awards for Vocal Group of the Year, Bluegrass Songwriter of the Year (Eric Gibson), and Song of the Year (“They Called It Music”).

Della Mae was named Emerging Artist of the Year, and The Boxcars took Instrumental Group of the Year.

Junior Sisk and Claire Lynch took home awards for Male Vocalist and Female Vocalist of the Year respectively, and Rob Ickes was awarded his 15th Dobro Player of the Year award, continuing his reign as the musician who has won the most trophies of any individual instrumentalist in the history of the IBMA Awards.

Bluegrass Hall of Fame inductees, the late Paul Warren and Tony Rice were honored in special presentations by Ron Stewart, and Peter Rowan and Sam Bush. Paul Warren’s induction was celebrated with a performance from The Earls of Leicester, and his plaque was accepted by his family. Tony Rice gave an unforgettable acceptance speech, and played with members of the original Manzanita album band – including Sam Bush, Jerry Douglas, Ricky Skaggs, and Todd Phillips with Wyatt Rice.

Hosted by Steep Canyon Rangers, the 2013 IBMA Awards Show featured a number of virtuoso-level, high energy live performances from Balsam Range, the Bluegrass Youth All-Stars, Blue Highway, Dailey &Vincent, The Del McCoury Band, Gibson Brothers, Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder, Kenny & Amanda Smith, Steep Canyon Rangers, Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out and Rhonda Vincent & The Rage.

The International Bluegrass Music Awards are voted on by the professional membership of the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA), which serves as the trade association for the bluegrass music industry. The IBMA Awards Show is the centerpiece of the World of Bluegrass Week, Sept 24-28 in Raleigh, NC, which also includes the IBMA Business Conference and Wide Open Bluegrass Festival.

The IBMA Awards Show was broadcast live on Sirius XM Satellite Radio (Bluegrass Junction, Channel 61). The show will be syndicated to more than 300 U.S. markets and 14 foreign networks, thanks to the sponsorship of John Pearse Strings, Deering Banjos, Compass Records and the International Bluegrass Music Museum. The sponsors for the live streamed broadcast were Bluegrass Today, Intellitouch Tuners and Music City Roots. Program directors and station managers may sign up to be affiliates by calling (615) 256-3222 or The show will also be posted on AirPlay Direct for broadcasters in the coming week.

A complete list of nominees, this year’s Bluegrass Hall of Fame inductees and the recipients of the Distinguished Achievement Award are listed below.

The 2013 International Bluegrass Music Awards

Hall of Fame Inductees: Tony Rice, Paul Warren

Entertainer of the Year: The Gibson Brothers

Vocal Group of the Year: The Gibson Brothers

Instrumental Group of the Year: The Boxcars

Male Vocalist of the Year: Junior Sisk

Female Vocalist of the Year: Claire Lynch

Emerging Artist of the Year: Della Mae

Album of the Year: Papertown, Balsam Range, produced by Balsam Range, Mountain Home.

Song of the Year: “They Called It Music,” The Gibson Brothers, written by Eric Gibson & Joe Newberry.

Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year: “Foggy Mountain Rock;” by Tom Adams, Dan Tyminski, Ron Stewart, Dennis Crouch, Clay Hess and Randy Kohrs; written by Louise Certain, Burkett Graves & Gladys Stacey; Rounder Records.

Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year: “Beulah Land,” Marty Raybon, written by Squire Parsons, produced by Marty Raybon, Rural Rhythm.

Recorded Event of the Year: “What’ll I Do;” by Terry Baucom with Sam Bush, Jerry Douglas, Wyatt Rice, Steve Bryant & Buddy Melton; produced by Terry Baucom, Cindy Baucom and Ed Lowe; John Boy & Billy label.

Mandolin Player of the Year: Adam Steffey

Dobro Player of the Year: Rob Ickes

Bass Player of the Year: Barry Bales

Fiddle Player of the Year: Jason Carter

Guitar Player of the Year: Bryan Sutton

Banjo Player of the Year: Mike Munford

Bluegrass Songwriter of the Year: Eric Gibson

Broadcaster of the Year: Ronnie Reno

Print/Media Person of the Year: Fred Bartenstein

Bluegrass Event of the Year: Bill Monroe Bean Blossom Bluegrass Festival in Bean Blossom, Indiana.

Best Graphic Design for a Recorded Project: Carl Jackson, Dak Alley & Jimmy Mets; for Grace Notes; by Carl Jackson

Best Liner Notes for a Recorded Project: Fred Bartenstein, for Joe Mullins and the Radio Ramblers's They’re Playing My Song

Momentum Awards (presented Wednesday, Sept 25):

Instrumentalist of the Year: Chris Luquette, Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen

Vocalist of the Year: Robert Greer, Town Mountain

Band of the Year: Town Mountain

New Festival or Venue of the Year: Bluegrass on the Plains; Auburn, AL

Industry Involvement of the Year: Danny Clark

Mentor of the Year: Denise Stiff