2013 Award Recipients



Congratulations to the Recipients of the 2013 International Bluegrass Music Awards!

Hall of Fame Inductees: Tony Rice, Paul Warren

Entertainer of the Year: The Gibson Brothers

Vocal Group of the Year: The Gibson Brothers

Instrumental Group of the Year: The Boxcars

Male Vocalist of the Year: Junior Sisk

Female Vocalist of the Year: Claire Lynch

Emerging Artist of the Year: Della Mae

Album of the Year: Papertown, Balsam Range, produced by Balsam Range, Mountain Home.

Song of the Year: “They Called It Music,” The Gibson Brothers, written by Eric Gibson & Joe Newberry.

Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year: “Foggy Mountain Rock;” by Tom Adams, Dan Tyminski, Ron Stewart, Dennis Crouch, Clay Hess and Randy Kohrs; written by Louise Certain, Burkett Graves & Gladys Stacey; Rounder Records.

Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year: “Beulah Land,” Marty Raybon, written by Squire Parsons, produced by Marty Raybon, Rural Rhythm.

Recorded Event of the Year: “What’ll I Do;” by Terry Baucom with Sam Bush, Jerry Douglas, Wyatt Rice, Steve Bryant & Buddy Melton; produced by Terry Baucom, Cindy Baucom and Ed Lowe; John Boy & Billy label.

Mandolin Player of the Year: Adam Steffey

Dobro Player of the Year: Rob Ickes

Bass Player of the Year: Barry Bales

Fiddle Player of the Year: Jason Carter

Guitar Player of the Year: Bryan Sutton

Banjo Player of the Year: Mike Munford

Bluegrass Songwriter of the Year: Eric Gibson

Broadcaster of the Year: Ronnie Reno

Print/Media Person of the Year: Fred Bartenstein

Bluegrass Event of the Year: Bill Monroe Bean Blossom Bluegrass Festival in Bean Blossom, Indiana.

Best Graphic Design for a Recorded Project: Carl Jackson, Dak Alley & Jimmy Mets; for Grace Notes; by Carl Jackson

Best Liner Notes for a Recorded Project: Fred Bartenstein, for Joe Mullins and the Radio Ramblers's They’re Playing My Song


Momentum Awards (presented Wednesday, Sept 25):

Instrumentalist of the Year: Chris Luquette, Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen

Vocalist of the Year: Robert Greer, Town Mountain

Band of the Year: Town Mountain

New Festival or Venue of the Year: Bluegrass on the Plains; Auburn, AL

Industry Involvement of the Year: Danny Clark

Mentor of the Year: Denise Stiff